European Border Breakers Award

Proof the European Union is not all about money, men and women in suits and bad news about the economy, the European Border Breakers Award is sponsored by the EU to celebrate the success of music across borders. Previous winners have included Adele, Anna Calvi, Tokio Hotel, The Baseballs, Zaz, Lykke Li, Milow, Katie Melua, Damien Rice, Caro Emerald, Stromae and Mumford and Sons. The EBBA (what would the EU be without another acronym?) is about the phenomenal contribution European artistes have made to great music and bringing people together, not least at festivals like Eurosonic at the Dutch city of Groningen on January 9, where the Award will be presented.

This years contenders for the EBBA Public choice award (you can vote here) include for the UK Emeli Sande, whose mix of rock and gospel has sent her soaring up the charts, Icelanders Of Monsters and Men, whose single Little Talks charted across the world, France’s C2C, French Films (confusingly) from Finland, and Spain’s Juan Zelada who at least sounds as if he is from the right country!

The European Border Breakers Award: confirmation that for all our differences, music is universal.


Pierfrancesco Pacoda

Subscribe Scroll to Top